More than 60 persons regularly are named to various City boards and commissions and intergovernmental groups that include: the City's Board of Review and its Building Authority Board of Commissioners; the Charlevoix-Cheboygan-Emmet Central Dispatch Authority Board of Directors; the City's Downtown Development Authority and Downtown Management Boards; its Library, Parks and Recreation and Planning Commissions; Tax Increment Finance Authority Board, and Zoning Board of Appeals.

For current vacancies on a Board or Commission, please contact the City Manager's Office at 231-347-2500 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The Planning Commission is the body authorized to create and approve a master plan as a guide for community development. The Commission then implements the plan through recommendations on zoning ordinance amendments, development of the capital improvements program, and review of development proposals and creation of sub-area plans. The Commission consists of nine members, and is staffed by the City Planner. The members are appointed for three-year terms and meetings are held at 7:00 P.M., the third Thursday of each month at City Hall.

City of Petoskey
101 E. Lake St
Petoskey, MI 49770

Telephone: 231-347-2500
Fax: 231-348-0350
Staff Directory